Subdomains

Any question you may have to help determine if this is the right forum script for you.
Post Reply
hostedforcheap
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:50 pm

Subdomains

Post by hostedforcheap » Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:59 pm

With this script, if I had unlimited subdomains, can this script make subdomains and usr them to host forums

domain.com would be the main site and once the person had signed up with the information, lets give there freeforumname as solegfx.

would this script make it like
solegfx.domain.com
???

echophp
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:07 am

Post by echophp » Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:12 am

Yes, it make it like solegfx.domain.com but it doesn't make an actual subdomain, you don't see the subdomain in your hosting control panel or anywhere.

DR_GIGGULS
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 10:45 am

Post by DR_GIGGULS » Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:33 am

However, you have to have wildcard dns enabled.
So it might not work with shared hosting, because it requires your site to have its own IP address.

echophp
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:07 am

Post by echophp » Mon Jul 28, 2008 1:04 pm

DR_GIGGULS wrote:However, you have to have wildcard dns enabled.
So it might not work with shared hosting, because it requires your site to have its own IP address.

Yes, that's right. For the live demo, please visit http://www.hoodhost.com, http://v3phpbb2.hoodhost.com and http://v3phpbb3.hoodhost.com.

Thanks.

Post Reply